RAF COLLEGE CRANWELL "IOT/IOTC PRIZE WINNERS"



Last Hick's Memorial Prize Winner 1979

Version 1.0 12 May 2022 IBM Steward 6GE

This analysis relies heavily on records archived at the RAF College before 2000 and DVDs purchased by the author of Graduation Parades beyond 2005. It is quite likely, therefore, that not all prize winners have been included especially as not all were presented their prizes during the Graduation Parades. Any members of 45 Entry and beyond (including all IOTC graduates) are invited to send copies of their graduation programmes to <u>ibms520@gmail.com</u> and I shall endeavour to correct any errors or omissions.



Flying Prizes

Trophy

Award Criteria

GEs Awarded



The Kinkead Trophy* is awarded to the winner of the 1/70, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, RM Groves Prize and to the graduate placed first in the 15, 16, 17, 22, 23, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, overall final order of merit for flying skills. 30(R), 32



The Hicks Memorial Trophy is awarded to the graduate who gained the highest mark in the Final Flying Wing Ground School Examinations.

The Dickson Memorial Trophy** is awarded to the graduate who shows most proficiency in applied flying.

1/70, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 2526, 27, 28, 29, 30, 30(R), 32, 33. [IOT 34 (last awarded)]

2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 20, 22, 23, 25, 26, 27, 29, 30, 30(R), 32



The Battle of Britain Memorial Trophy is awarded to the graduate who shows most proficiency in aerobatic flying.

1/70, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 20, 22, 23, 25, 26, 27, 30, 32



Harcourt-Smith Years Jan 78 - Jan 80 Prizewinners

GE	Sword of Honour	Hennessy Trophy	Queens Medal	Philip Sassoon Memorial Trophy	Dickson Trophy (M Hill Mem)	Kinkead Trophy (RM Groves)	Battle of Britain	Hicks Memorial	Beckwith	Chicksands	Supply Cup	Secretarial Cup
30		l Saville			CT Lawrence CH Moran	(JR Gostick)	MA Leakey	JB Middleton JH Murphy	TM Winn- Morgan			
30(R)					CR Lambert	(LK Trask)		LK Trask				
32		D Walker			l Hollingworth	l Hollingworth	l Hollingworth	AC Price				
33		EG Jones						CC Edwards DW Frost				
34 IOT		JP Crosse						TN Lock				
35 IOT		W Armstrong		W Armstrong								
36 IOT		MJ Crossey		MJ Crossey								
37 IOT		SJ Duncan (WRAF)		SJ Duncan (WRAF)								
38 IOT		BA Moore		BA Moore								
39 IOT		H Millar		H Millar								
40 IOT	MA Townsend- Smith	MA Townsend- Smith		MA Townsend- Smith								
				< 12 3		The second						